Anushri Power Adapter question/ troubleshooting
  • Hope everybody has been having happy holidays.
    I just finished putting my kit together, and am excited to turn it on, but I have yet to order it’s own power supply. So, meanwhile I wanted to just power it on and make sure it’s working, and I have this 9V 2000mA adaptor. Is this ok to use? I understand the Anushri calls for a 7.5V or 9V 200mA supply, and I’m not very knowledgeable on this subject. If it helps, the specs of the adapter are here http://www.musiciansfriend.com/accessories/roland-psb-120-power-adapter-same-as-psb-1u .
    Thanks for any help on this shamefully noobish question, I’m still learning things as I go.

• 200mA is what the Shruthi draws, 2000mA is not what a Power Supply tries to push thru a device, so you should be fine. Please measure although the Voltage with the Shruthi attached, some WallWarts tend to deliver a higher voltage when not fully loaded. YOu should exceed 9V for to much, the regulators 7805 + 7905 might get to warm.

• When I plug it in and turn it on, no LED’s come on, nothing indicates that it is even on at all. Should I look around with the multi meter to find the problem?

• The filter board has two pads for a power supply switch, if you’re not using one you solder a bridge wire across instead. Have you done this?

Did you follow the voltage tests? honestly, do not cut corners, follow the assembly guide to the letter, you will save yourself a lot of pain, blown chips etc.

Oh sorry, your post is about Anushri, well I’ve not built one of those.

• I don’t see two pads, nor do I see anything about it in the instructions. Perhaps you think I’m referring to a shruthi (you mentioned the filter board), but this is an Anushri. Sorry for not specifying earlier, I should’ve made it more clear than just putting it in the subforum.

edit: changed the title for you all :)

• Toggle the Power Switch ;-)