Thank you for these amazing machines !
  • Hello :)

First post here. Let me tell you a “bit” about how I came here…

I just got into analog synthesizers a few weeks/months ago when I treated myself with a Korg Monotribe while “browsing” at Thomann…
    I have no electronic music background except listening to it for 25 years, I do play acoustic instruments (guitar, ukulele, shamanic drum, native american flute, jews harps, ...)
    I have a long time GAS habit, though, and I’m a very fast learner (with background in professional IT and a long time hacker).

What started all this was my will to use a microphone on my flutes to add some delay/reverb. I got the DigiTech TimeBender pedal, which is one of the most advanced delay pedal ever made (it went completely under the radar from most guitarists, though). I had so much fun turning all those knobs and getting rhythmic distortions out of it that I wasn’t playing the flute anymore so I thought, hell, what the heck, let’s create my sounds from scratch, electronically, but only turning knobs ! That’s when I saw videos of modular systems on youtube…

But damn ! All those modular synths were so expensive ! When I get into a new field, I like to buy/get a few concurrent systems so I can learn without bias and faster. No way I was spending 2 or 3000€ to test a few modules !
    So after lots and lots of online research, I decided to give Elektron a chance for the polyvalence of their machines and got an Analog Four.
    I’m very satisfied as it’s the perfect machine to “make electronic music” thanks to their amazing sequencer and four monophonic voices.

I still had my GAS, though, and wanted to keep experimenting with analog synths, but at fairer prices than Elektron (though I’ll have to get an Octatrack sooner or later – for the same reasons as the A4, but for sampling : pure hardware solution) and all the other “big” players – Moog, DSI, Korg, Doepfer, MFB, ...