Any Help for Uploading Bootloader & Firmware in new Atmega328p via AVR Programmer?
  • Hi There,

I wanna upload the bootloader and the firmware into new Atmega328p microcontroller from MacOSX.

My tool is the Sparkfun Pocket AVR Programmer, and i have install the ObDev CrossPack (for the avrdude) and then i read this help page from http://www.ladyada.net/learn/avr/setup-mac.html, but i don’t know if i’ll make something wrong. After that i’m searching for avrdude with GUI to leave the terminal trouble and install these apps (W7AY AVR Tools, AVR Burn-O-Mat, Vonnieda AVRFuses) but i’m new in AVR and really need some help….

THANKS

• With this terminal command “avrdude -c usbtiny -p t2313” i have check if my avr programmer communicate.. i see this message and is mean work if i’m right.

avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1 Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override this check.

avrdude done. Thank you.

• I have some questions,
    the Anushri need to be connected with the power supply or its ok with 5v (500mA) from the Pocket AVR programmer?
    What is the fuse value?

• You don’t need crosspak for avrdude, only if you want to compile the code. You can install avrdude with homebrew. Anyway now that you have avrdude installed it looks like you have some problem with the connection between avrdude and the device.
    I have not used that particular programmer myself but I’d guess that it’s not compatible with the usbtiny or you are specifying the wrong port. Maybe you should prepend /dev/ ?

• avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1 Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override this check.

avrdude done. Thank you.

“This means that the programmer couldn’t talk to the chip. If you are using a “simple” programmer such as a serial or parallel port bitbang programmer, it could mean the programmer is at fault. Otherwise, it usually means the programmer is OK but it couldnt find the chip.”